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4 VAC 25-50-10. Definition. 

The following word and term, when used in this chapter, shall have the following 

meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Maintenance" means all of the tasks required to be performed routinely to ensure that 

the engine exhaust emissions conform with the requirements of the laws and regulations 

of Virginia, and with the maintenance recommendations of the manufacturer of the 

engine. 

 

4 VAC 25-50-20. Purpose and authority. 

This chapter establishes requirements for obtaining a certificate to perform maintenance 

on diesel engines used in underground coal mines in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The 

purpose of the regulations is to ensure that competent personnel are employed to maintain 

diesel engines in such a manner as to protect the health and safety of workers. The 

regulations are promulgated under the rulemaking authority of the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy pursuant to §45.1-161.3 of the Code of Virginia, and are adopted by 

the Board of Coal Mining Examiners by the authority pursuant to §45.1-161.28 of the 

Code. 

 

4 VAC 25-50-30. Applicability. 

Beginning April 1, 1990, all maintenance work performed on diesel engines used to 

power equipment in underground coal mines must be performed by, or under the direct 

supervision of, a person possessing a Diesel-Engine Mechanic Certificate issued by the 

Board of Coal Mining Examiners. Beginning April 1, 1990, no operator of an 

underground coal mine in the Commonwealth of Virginia may use diesel-powered 

equipment in such a mine without first employing a diesel-engine mechanic who is 

certified by the Board of Coal Mining Examiners.  

 

4 VAC 25-50-40. Qualifications. 

A. Applicants for a Diesel-Engine Mechanic Certificate must have at least six months of 

practical experience as a diesel-engine mechanic, verified by a notarized statement. 



DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY  
RULES AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING CERTIFICATION OF DIESEL 
ENGINE MECHANICS IN UNDERGROUND COAL MINES 

Page 2 of 3 

Satisfactory completion of the Division of Mines Diesel-Engine Mechanic Course, or 

completion of a one-year diesel mechanic program approved by the division, may be 

substituted for this diesel-engine mechanic experience. 

B. Applicants for a Diesel-Engine Mechanic Certificate must score 85% or more on all 

sections of the Diesel-Engine Mechanic Examination. Prior to taking the examination, the 

applicant must have met the experience requirements for certification, including 

verification, have submitted a complete application for certification, and have paid a $10 

fee for the examination and certificate. Applicants that fail one or more sections of the 

examination may take those sections of the examination again within 90 days after taking 

the complete examination. Applicants that fail one or more sections a second time may 

take the entire examination again within 90 days after failing those sections.  Applicants 

who fail any part of the examination three times may not take the examination again until 

at least one year after the first attempt. 

 

4 VAC 25-50-60. Certification of instructors. 

A. All training conducted for the purpose of qualifying individuals for the Diesel Engine 

Mechanic Certificate, or for renewal of that certificate, shall be administered by 

instructors who are certified by the Division of Mines. Such a certificate shall be known 

as Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor Certificate. To qualify for the instructor's 

certificate, an applicant must pass the Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor Examination, 

and possess either a Diesel Engine Mechanic Certificate or suitable experience as 

determined by the division. 

B. The holder of a Diesel Engine Mechanic Instructor Certificate may maintain validation 

of the certificate by having taught at least one approved diesel engine mechanic course 

every two years, or by having taught at least three diesel-engine mechanic retraining 

courses every year. The Board of Coal Mining Examiners may revoke the certification, in 

accordance with §45.1-161.35 of the Code of Virginia, when the certificate holder fails to 

meet these validation requirements. 

 

4 VAC 25-50-80. Diesel mechanic training courses. 
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A. The Chief of the Division of Mines at his discretion may approve independently 

created diesel engine mechanic annual retraining courses and courses for training miners 

to be certified initially. 

B. To qualify for consideration by the chief, a diesel engine mechanic annual retraining 

course shall consist of at least four hours of classroom instruction. The content of the 

course shall include, but is not limited to, diesel technology, diesel laws and regulations, 

safe use of diesel equipment, and the protection of health of workers exposed to diesel 

equipment. 

C. To qualify for consideration by the chief, a diesel engine mechanic certification course 

shall include, but is not limited to, instruction on the subjects of diesel-engine principles, 

fuel systems, diesel fuel, engine exhaust systems, diesel laws and regulations, preventive 

maintenance, emission controls, emission testing, safe use of diesel equipment, and 

protection of health of workers exposed to diesel equipment. 

 

4 VAC 25-50-110. Terms of issuance. 

A. A Diesel Engine Mechanic Certificate shall remain valid for one year from the last day 

of the month in which the certificate was issued, unless the certificate is revoked by the 

Board of Coal Mining Examiners in accordance with §45.1-161.35 of the Code of 

Virginia. The holder of a certificate may renew the certificate by satisfactorily 

completing a diesel engine mechanic annual retraining program approved by the Division 

of Mines and taught by an instructor certified by the division. 

B. If a certificate expires because the certificate holder fails to complete retraining 

requirements, then the holder of the expired certificate must complete the retraining 

requirements and pass the Diesel Engine Mechanic Examination prior to reinstatement of 

certification. 

C. Reciprocity of certification from MSHA and other states may be granted pursuant to 

§45.1-161.33 of the Code of Virginia. 

 


